Skip to content

Vera Wang Lavender Label Fall 09: Vera Goes Punk

February 1, 2009

Photo by John Aquino, Provided Through wwd.com

Photos by John Aquino, Provided Through wwd.com

So, Fashion Weeks are underway. There’s been the haute couture shows, (should of posted something about those, shame on me,) and the mens shows (bleg). But truth be told, the shows I’m most excited about blogging about are the ready-to-wear Women’s shows and/or collections. Why? Because you can actually wear the clothes out on the street!Anyway, today I’m commenting on Vera Wang’s Lavender Label Fall 09 collection, which sort of seems like she’s trying to attract the punk crowd. Attention Vera. You’re fabulous. But you can’t design for the punk crowd!!

The dress in the front is very sweet, but then the back seems like an afterthought. The boots also dont meld with it well.

The dress in the front is very sweet, but then the back seems like an afterthought. The boots also don't meld with it well.

Ah, maybe. Once again the styling is weird, but I adore the detail and the color.

Ah, maybe. Once again the styling is weird, but I adore the detail and the color.

I want this trench. Now. Still not feeling the boots.

I want this trench. Now. Still not feeling the boots.

Starting to grow on me. But all together?? If I were the stylist, Id ditch the tights and boots, and glam it up with some heels instead.

Top: Like. Skirt: Like. Tights: Like. Boots: Starting to grow on me. But all together?? If I were the stylist, I'd ditch the tights and boots, and glam it up with some heels instead.

I like the flats, but the petite cape isnt cutting it.

I like the flats, but the petite cape isn't cutting it.

Probably my favorite look out of the lookbook.

Probably my favorite look out of the look book.

Vera Wang has punked things up. I like some of the pieces by themselves, (like those boots, which after looking at them a million times, would fit into my wardrobe very nicely,) but some are just a little too avant-garde for me, (blue dress anyone??) After consideration, I’ve decided Vera Wang needs a new stylist. One who doesn’t have a strange obsession with flaming red tights. Full collection here.

Grade: B-

Love,

A

One Comment leave one →
  1. haven permalink
    February 2, 2009 4:38 pm

    i love the lavender label and i’m looking forward to the ready-to-wear shows too, especially chanel. last year’s really sucked. i was disappointed in karl lagerfeld. i’m also looking forward to marc by marc jacobs. the fall line was fantastic. i tried to write an article on it for my school paper but the stupid editor was like “no.” i swear, people have such narrow minds!!!

Leave a Reply

